My London Chronicles

From Sun to Snow

As I strolled down the quintessentially English streets of London, wrapped in a coat that’s more ‘survival gear’ than ‘fashion statement’, I couldn’t help but reflect on my journey here. You see, for three years, my life oscillated like a metronome between South Africa and London. But here I am, officially a Londoner, trading the perpetual summer of Johannesburg for the romantic, albeit frosty, embrace of London’s winter.

The streets tell a story. One of change, of seasons passing, and of new beginnings. The Christmas trees that once stood proud and bright in every home, now lay abandoned by the curbside, stripped of their sparkling glory. A tad morose, I agree, but isn’t it emblematic of life? One moment you’re the belle of the ball, and the next, you’re last season’s forgotten trend.

This ‘out with the old, in with the new’ mantra doesn’t just apply to the pine trees lining the streets. It resonates deeply with me. My life in London is a series of new beginnings, of closets scattered across continents – a pair of heels in Cape Town, a beloved dress in Guernsey, and now, a growing collection of winter wear in London. Each item, a story, a memory, a piece of a life lived in transit.

And speaking of new additions, let’s not forget the latest members of our little London family. Our two fur babies. Just when my partner and I thought we had our hands full, we introduced a new puppy into the mix. You’d think adding to the chaos would be a recipe for disaster, but somehow, it’s brought a sense of completeness to our home. It’s like finding that missing piece of a puzzle you didn’t know you were assembling. As we watch them play, frolicking around with the innocence and enthusiasm only puppies have, I can’t help but think about how they symbolize our new life here. Full of energy, new challenges, and unbridled joy.

So, as I watch the old Christmas trees of yesteryear wither away and make room for new growth, I’m reminded of the beauty in letting go. In shedding the old to make way for the new. As a South African now calling London home, I realize that the essence of life is change. And as much as I miss the African sun, I’m learning to dance in the London rain, embracing the new chapters, and the new closets, life has in store.

After all, isn’t life about collecting stories, not just things? As these London streets become increasingly familiar, I find myself not just walking on them but leaving a part of my story with each step. And maybe, just maybe, that’s the magic of new beginnings.

XOXO
To New Beginnings

Leave a comment